Global Read Aloud

If you have not heard of the Global Read Aloud, well, you should look into it!  This is a wonderful opportunity for students and teachers from around the world to come together to read, share, and discuss books!

There are four different titles being explored with the Global Read Aloud this year:

The Kindergarten students are going to be exploring various books by author Eric Carle.

The students in Grades 1-3 will be reading Marty McGuire by Kate Messner.

Those in Grades 4-7 are exploring the book Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper.

High School students will be reading Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach.

I recently read Out of My Mind and I must say, I can’t wait to see what discussions and revelations will emerge as a result of so many people reading this wonderfully inspiring book.

Without giving much away, I just want to say that Out of this Mind is a book that everyone should read and discuss. The main character, 11-year-old Melody is an amazing girl who is confined to a wheel chair and unable to express herself how she’d like. She is unable to do many things that she wants to do, even though her mind understands everything. In fact, many would likely say that Melody is gifted in many ways. The story weaves through her struggles in school, with her teachers and her peers.

This book made me have a whole range of emotions throughout the book. At times I laughed out loud. There were moments I felt very angry. Other times, I was frozen in fear. Still other moments, I was overcome by tears.  This book brings to light many unfortunate beliefs and feelings many may have (or had) about people who may have special needs.  It is my hope that this book will help start important conversations that are essential in understanding ourselves and others in a much deeper way.

The Global Read Aloud looks like a great entry point for many who may be unsure of how to start connecting with others around the world. 

02 04 11 Drop 35/365  Explored  http://www.flickr.com/explore/interesting/2011/02/04/page47/

I look forward to finding a way to become involved in the Global Read Aloud, even though I do not have a classroom of my own.

Next, I plan on reading Marty McGuire with my daughter.  That sounds like it will be a fun read!

Are you planning on being involved in the Global Read Aloud this year?

Doesn’t this sound like an easy way to become involved with connecting with others around the world?

Published by Tia M. Dawson

There are many things that define who I am as a person. First of all, I am a mother of 3 wonderful children! I can not express how fortunate we are to have our children in our life! Secondly, I am an elementary educator who recently returned to the classroom after 12+ years as an elementary school administrator. Lastly, I am passionate about helping others, learning about abuse, helping others in abusive relationships, and helping others understand their worth.

7 thoughts on “Global Read Aloud

    1. Hi Janet,

      It does sound great! I think last year was the first year of the Global Read Aloud. It is really a great way to get started connecting. Teachers can go as deep and make as many connections as they want.

      Thanks for passing along the link.
      Tia
      🙂

  1. Thank you so much Tia for the write up. This year is the 4th year for the project with the first year just being one book and 60 classrooms. To say this has grown beyond my wildest dreams doesn’t quite cover it. Also, anyone can do whichever book they want, I am probably doing stupid fast with my 5th graders. To follow the GRA on Twitter just search for the hashtag #gra13 or follow me @pernilleripp

    1. Hi Pernille,

      Wow! It’s the 4th year of the project? That’s great! Yah, I’m sure it has grown way beyond your wildest dreams of back then. That’s great though! What a wonderful way to connect with others around the world. Thank you for starting this for everyone!

      Looking forward to learning more about GRA and participating somehow this fall,

      Tia

      Thanks for stopping by to read and comment, Pernille!

  2. Tia, I LOVE the GRA! This will be my second year participating, and my 7th graders loved THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN, even if, at first, we thought it’d be a little “young” for us. We were able to connect with Anne-Marie’s & Ryan Hong’s classes in BC and another in Ontario! It was fabulous. I, too, am happy we chose OUT IF MY MIND for this year. Many of my students read it last year (it was on our state recommended list), but I’m sure they’ll enjoy sharing it with others.

    1. Hi Joy!

      I didn’t get to participate in the GRA last year, but I am really hoping to be able to get some classes in my school participating this year because it sounds like a great way to connect with other! I’m really looking forward to it!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!
      Tia

Leave a comment