Identity Day 2012

Our school is hosting their first Identity Day this coming Wednesday.  This day provides everyone the opportunity to share something about themselves.  It can  be something that is important to them or something that makes them who they are.  It could be a hobby.  It could be a special talent. It could be something that they really liked.

These projects are a way of getting to know one another – a real community-building project. These projects are not graded.

As soon as we decided to do Identity Day, I knew that photography would be a part of my project. Photography has always been important to me and an interest of mine.  But, after my 1st son was born in 2008, it became much more than an interest.  It became a passion. It became something I needed to help me through a difficult time. It became a way to occupy my mind.

As you will see in the video below, my Identity Day project, photography allows me to capture, to express myself, and to create. Photography allows me to capture the beauty that surrounds us every day. We often take for granted our environment and our surroundings. Taking photos allows me to appreciate my surroundings at a much deeper level.  Photography allows me to be creative. It is a great way to express myself, to challenge myself, and to learn.  Photography allows me to capture emotion.  Emotion is often fleeting and difficult to really hold on to.  Photography allows me to do that – to capture emotion that will break my heart or capture emotion that will make me smile and laugh out loud!  Most importantly though, photography allows me to create memories. I can often get lost in old photos re-living moments in time. Re-living events – whether it be a lost tooth, a hug, a puddle jump, or a birthday party. Photos allow me to always remember.

Here is my Identity Day Project which I will be sharing with our school this week:

I can’t wait to learn about the projects of the students and staff members in our school. It will be an exciting, invigorating day that will help to build relationships among all of us. What a gift!

If you were to do an Identity Day Project, what would it be about?

What would you share with others?

About T. Henriksen

There are many things that define who I am as a person. First of all, I am a mother of 3 wonderful children! I can not express how fortunate we are to have our children in our life! Secondly, I am a Vice-Principal of an elementary school in a wonderful, vibrant, complex, and growing school district. I have worked in this district since 1995, and became a Vice-Principal in 2005. Lastly, I am a person who loves photography. I gain so much enjoyment and satisfaction taking photos. I have learned a great deal about photography since I purchased my first dSLR in 2008. There is so much more to learn though! All three of these things help to describe who I am as a person, but also demonstrate my love of learning - nothing is ever stagnant with any of these. I love to learn!
This entry was posted in Connections / Relationships, Photography, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Identity Day 2012

  1. Pingback: Lead up to Identity Day 2012 « teacherdiana

  2. Pingback: Lead up to Identity Day 2012 | Teacherdiana

  3. Pingback: Innovation Days | It's All About Learning

Leave a Reply

